How To Restore Your iPhone After Jailbreak

There are several reasons why you may want to reset your iPhone and yes, jailbreak may be one of them. You simply feel it’s to much bloat on in and it is not moving as smoothly as you’d like, something isn’t working as it should or whatever other reasons you might have, a once in a while reset is more than recommended to do.

A word of caution here, this will erase all of your settings and data from the phone, so if you want to keep any of that stuff perform an iCloud backup.

Fortunately, it’s a very simple process to restore your iPhone to its original factory settings: all you need is your Apple device and a few minutes of your time. The process itself may differ according to which version of iOS you’re using, but whether you’re performing a factory reset using your untethered iPhone, or iTunes, it’s basically the same. And, if you’re performing a factory reset on any iOS device, you can follow these same instructions. Let’s see how to reset your iPhone and make it like brand new!

Resetting Safely – Backup first!

This step is a must! Whenever you’re performing a task like this, it’s imperative that the very first thing you do is back-up your iPhone’s data. You might loose precious data if you think about resetting your phone without a proper backup. Remember that, after you’ve finished, you’ll need a copy of your most recent data to restore onto your iPhone.

If you prefer to do it on iCloud it’s OK, but the recommended way is trough iTunes on your Mac or PC. Simply sync your iPhone to your computer. Backing up to iCloud entails going to Settings > iCloud > Backup, and creating a new backup.

Disable iCloud and Find My iPhone

The next step in the process is to disable iCloud/Find My iPhone. In order to reset your iPhone, there’s a security feature called Activation Lock in iOS 7 and up which requires that the Apple ID used to set up the iPhone be used.

Your iPhone won’t be usable by the next person if you don’t disable the Activation Lock.

When you turn off iCloud/Find My iPhone, the Activation Lock is disabled. Here are your instructions on how to do this:

  1. First, go to Settings then tap on iCloud;
  2. Next, go to the bottom of the screen and tap on Sign Out;
  3. At this point, you may be asked to supply your iCloud/Apple ID password. Enter the password;
  4. Now that iCloud has been turned off, move to the next step.

Types of reset

You can reset your iPhone in two ways.

  1. Perform a soft reset directly from your phone. This will keep your firmware intact and only delete some specific elements from the system and / or the content (Apps, Photos and Videos) if you choose to. This method is recommended only if you want to clean your phone quickly.
  2. Perform a hard reset (firmware restore) from your computer using iTunes. This reset type is recommended if you feel that there are some glitches with your Operating System (iOS). The firmware will be deleted and replaced so any firmware related malfunction should be fixed be resting your iPhone this way. Basically, it’s like having a factory new iPhone in your pocket after performing this reset. When I do this, I usually carefully clean my iPhone so I really do feel like I’m having a new one.

iPhone Soft Reset

  1. You need to return to the main Settings screen, so on the top left of the screen tap the Settings menu;
  2. Scroll down, then tap on the General menu;
  3. Next, scroll to the bottom then tap on the Reset menu;

You’ll see that there are a number of reset options on this screen, ranging from Home screen layout, resetting the Dictionary, to resetting the iPhone’s Settings:

  • Reset All Settings – will reset all iOS settings to their default values but it will keep the pictures, videos and Apps intact.
  • Erase All Content and Settings – will reset all iOS settings to their default values AND will delete any content from your iPhone. Now having a backup of your cool selfies definitely comes in handy.
  • Reset Network Settings – Say you played around with some proxies and you want to get rid of them, or you found out that it’s not the safest thing in the world to connect to any free Wi-Fi networks but you’ve already saved a bunch of them, from here you can simply reset only the setting related to your network connections.
  • Reset Keyboard Settings – All those strange tests you did with your keyboard can be reset from here. Be warned that Auto-correct will be on now and some funny messages might go out.
  • Reset Home Screen Layout – Simple reset Home Screen Layout settings from here.
  • Reset Location & Privacy – Location services and privacy settings can be reset from here. This comes handy when you are not sure what permissions you gave to each App. You will be prompted for Privacy and Location access by each App is using them once you’ll open the Apps after the reset.

You’ll notice that there’s no specific ‘factory reset’ label; the option you’re looking for is Erase All Content and Settings. Tap on that.

If your iPhone has a pass-code, it’s here that you’ll be asked to enter it. If there’s no pass-code on your iPhone, move on to the next step.

You’ll now receive a warning! This is to ensure you fully understand that proceeding with the process will result in all your settings, data, music and other media being erased. If, for some reason, you decide you don’t want to proceed, tap on Cancel. If you’re still happy to proceed, tap on Erase.

It can take a couple of minutes for everything to be deleted from your iPhone, but the end result will be a brand newish Apple phone (from a software perspective, that is).

Hard Reset Your iPhone

You’ll find that a basic restart will resolve a lot of issues, but not all of them. Instead of “Erase All Content and Settings” I always prefer to do a “hard reset” called also a DFU restore. I really need to put emphasis again on the backup and be warned this will really erase everything on your iPhone!

There are some cases where you need a hard reset, which is a more powerful option: an example is when your iPhone has frozen and doesn’t respond when you press the Sleep/Wake button.

A hard reset helps your iPhone to start again from scratch: it not only restarts the iPhone, it refreshes the memory that apps run in. Don’t be concerned that your data will be deleted. A hard reset is typically not required in most cases, but if required, please follow these instructions:

  1. Hold your iPhone with the phone screen facing you, then hold the Home button at the bottom center and the Sleep/Wake button at the same time;
  2. Do not let go when you see the power-off slider. Continue holding them both until the screen goes black;
  3. Next, wait until you see the silver Apple logo;

You can let go when you see this logo, because the iPhone is now rebooting.

Instructions for Hard Reset any iPhone 7 and 7 Plus

With the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus, there’s a slightly different process for a hard reset. The reason is that, on these iPhone generation, the Home button is no longer a true button. It’s now become a 3D Touch panel. This means there’s a different process for resetting.

With the exception of holding down the Home button, all steps with the iPhone 7 are the same as for any iPhone’s. The difference is that you need to hold down the Sleep/Wake button and the Volume Down button at the same time.

After a reset you can recover your backup files from iTunes and you are good to go, or simply setup your phone as a new iPhone.